For the past six years the Violence Prevention Collaborative has given youth an opportunity to voice their opinion on a violence-related topic.  The winning essays, poems and art will be on display at various places throughout the year, including the Winnebago County Health Department. 

For more information, to make reservations for the May 23 luncheon, or to express interest in displaying the winning entries at your organization or business, please contact Karen Lytwyn at 815-720-4261 or 815-703-2437 or e-mail her at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The student winners are:
Emily Licon, Grade 5, Montessori Academy at Marshall - Poetry  
Ashlyn Horton, Grade 7, Thurgood Marshall - Poetry 
Jodi Weyl, Grade 11, Jefferson High School - Poetry 
Juel Campos Watkins, Grade 1, Johnson Elementary - Art 
Miracle Toney, Grade 7, Thurgood Marshall - Art 
Brittany Manuell, Grade 12, Jefferson High School - Art 
Juliana Mace, Grade 5, West View Elementary - Essay 
Hailee Jones, Grade 7, Kennedy Middle School - Essay 
Celeste Ramirez, Grade 10, Jefferson High School - Essay